Go Deeper

boat under water

I am not too much of a fisherman, (fisher woman? fisher person?) Basically, I don’t fish much. When I do fish, my feet are planted firmly on the sand, with my husband and/or eldest son at my side. Not that I feel fishing needs to be a group activity, I just require someone there who can cast my line past where the waves break. To be fair, I have caught  fish in the surf when I cast my bait about 3 feet in front of me (made me think twice the next time I went swimming), but for the most part, in order to get the good fish, I have to angle in deeper water.

If I really want to get the biggest fish however, I have to leave the comfort of the shore (and my chair, umbrella, tasty snacks and fun drink) and go out to even deeper water. This really doesn’t happen much. The thought of leaving the sand behind, getting tossed to and fro, having a bathroom comprised of a bucket with a toilet seat on it, in order to catch a fish, really holds little appeal. Even if I brought my tasty snacks and fun drink, it just doesn’t do it for me.

But what if the reward wasn’t a large fish, but something else. Something I really wanted and longed for. Would I leave the security of the beach for that? Would I be willing to be heaved back and forth, battle the waves, pee in a bucket, and loose sight of land for that? It depends.

The bible talks a lot about fishing. The very first disciples Jesus called were fisherman. Picture it – it is a warm sunny day. People are crowding around Jesus to hear what He has to say. Finally, in order to get room to breathe, Jesus steps into a fishing boat and asks the owner to put out a little from the shore. From there He teaches the people. When He is finished teaching he turns to the boat owner, who by the way had just finished a very unsuccessful night of fishing, and suggests they go out into the deep water and catch some fish.

Simon Peter, the boat owner, who was probably very ready for breakfast, a bath and the bed replied, “we have fished all night and caught nothing!” But he didn’t stop there. He could have. I probably would have. But whether it was because he had just heard Jesus speak and was impressed, or because he knew of Jesus’ reputation and wanted to please him, he added, “but because you are asking, I will do it”.

Off they went. Away from the security of land and out to the open sea. They reached the deep water and let down their nets. Before they knew it, they were pulling in so many fish the nets were beginning to tear. They actually called to another boat to help them with the monstrous catch. The two boats pulled in so many fish, they began to sink. It was above anything they could have ever imagined. This freaked everyone out. Simon fell down before Jesus and said, “get away from me. I am a sinful man”. Jesus smiled (okay, the bible doesn’t say He smiled, but when I picture this scene, He is smiling. I mean come on, here is a guy face down in a colossal pile of fish that He insisted weren’t there, freaking out. How could He not smile?) But smiling of not, Jesus replied, “don’t be afraid; from now on you will fish for people”.

So the “don’t be afraid” comment may have brought a little comfort, but I have to believe that comfort disappeared as soon as he heard, “from now on you will fish for people”. Unfortunately, we are not told what Simon was thinking. We are told what he did. He brought his sinking boat, overflowing nets, and humongous hall of fish to shore, left it all behind, and followed Jesus. The biggest catch of his life. Guaranteed income.  And talk about a fish tale he could tell his friends… all of this suddenly became inconsequential when it came to following Jesus.

My point. What is it you need? Friends? Health? A better relationship with your kids? A job? These are all legit things! Simon Peter needed to catch fish. This was how he made his living. This was his bread and butter. He worked hard, I mean we just read how he had gone out all night and had nary a nibble.  Then Jesus came and said, now try it again, my way. There is no indication Simon had been doing anything wrong, Jesus just wanted him to try again. In His timing – right now. Where He said to go – into the deep water.

When I am tired, doing something that I JUST DID with NO success holds little appeal. On top of that, I don’t like deep water (physically or metaphorically). It’s just scary! Jesus was asking both of Simon Peter. But be encouraged. Why?

One – Jesus started small. He found someone sitting in a boat and told him, “Pull out a little from the shore.” This was safe. Attainable. The water probably wasn’t even over their heads. This was something Simon Peter had done before. The difference now, he just sat in his boat. He didn’t fish. He didn’t sail. He sat – while Jesus taught. We have no idea how long He taught, but whether it was an hour or all day, Simon was right there, by Jesus’ side, listening and learning.  Jesus is looking for people who are willing to sit in their boats. To listen and learn as he prepares us for more.

Two – when Jesus finished teaching, it was time for action. Time to go deeper. But don’t panic – when it was time to go deeper, Jesus was going with him. He didn’t say, “you head on out to the deep and then come back and tell me all about it”. No. Jesus said, let’s “put out into deep water, and let down the nets for a catch.” Sometimes we focus so much on the depths below us we overlook the One in the boat with us.

Three – Simon Peter’s initial thought was, “yeah, been there, done that – no fish”.  It’s okay to pause and question. The key is to then look who is asking, and if it’s Jesus, then do it anyway.

Four – Simon Peter pulled in more fish than he could have ever imagined, but instead of focusing on his haul, he focused on the One who made it possible. The miracle worker over the miracle.

I asked earlier – But what if the reward wasn’t a large fish, but something else? What if it was something I really wanted and longed for? Would I leave the security of the beach for that? Would I be willing to be heaved back and forth, battle the waves, pee in a bucket, and loose sight of land for that? It depends. Here is what it depends on:

Am I one of the masses on the shore, or am I sitting in my boat? Am I ready and willing to do what Jesus’ asks, when He asks, how He asks?

Have I spent time with and learned from Him?

Do I trust Him enough to know He will never leave me or forsake me? If he calls me to the deep water, will I remember He is with me and even if what He is calling me to do makes no sense, and seems pointless, will I do it anyway?

If I am able to answer yes to each of these – THEN, I am ready to leave the beach, be heaved back and forth, battle the waves, pee in a bucket and lose sight of the land – because while I am keeping my eye on the One in the boat with me and not on the depths below, He is doing more than I could ever ask or think.

Go Deeper

One thought on “Go Deeper

Leave a comment